The Q&A Archives: Types of Iris

Question: What is an African iris? Is is different from a bearded iris?

Answer: I did some research with the American Iris Society and could not find any reference to an African Iris. According to AIS, Bearded Iris are identified by thick, bushy, beards on each of the falls (lower petals) of the blossoms. The bearded iris is divided into 6 groups: Miniature Dwarf, Standard Dwarf, Intermediate Bearded, Border Bearded, Miniature Tall Bearded, and Tall Bearded. Other types of iris include Aril Iris, native to the Near East and difficult to grow in the US. There are also Beardless Irises which are divided into 6 groups: Spurias, Siberians, Japanese, Louisiana, Pacific Coast Natives/Californicae, and Species.

« Click to go to the homepage

» Ask a question of your own

Q&A Library Searching Tips

  • When singular and plural spellings differ, as in peony and peonies, try both.
  • Search terms are not case sensitive.

Today's site banner is by plantmanager and is called "Captivating Caladiums"